Now That's What I Call 40 Years: Vol.1 - 1983-1993 [VINYL] | Echo's Record Bar Online Store

FREE DELIVERY! When spending over R1000!

Now That's What I Call 40 Years: Vol.1 - 1983-1993 VINYL - LPN408393

Product Not
Available to Order



NOW That’s What I Call Music! is excited to celebrate our 40th anniversary, and we are proud to present four very special collector’s editions that together present 175 essential hits from the past 40 years on vinyl. The first of these is NOW That's What I Call 40 Years: Volume 1 - 1983-1993. Looking back at 10 years of huge Pop hits, this 3LP is pressed on white vinyl, in a stunning tri-fold sleeve that includes a track-by-track guide and original singles and NOW artwork. 42 tracks that span the first 10 years of NOW That’s What I Call Music! releases, including tracks from all of the first 25 numbered NOW albums. Kicking off in 1983 with the year’s biggest seller ‘Karma Chameleon’ from Culture Club and including some of the most popular hits of the 80s, including ‘Radio Ga Ga’ from Queen, UB40, Frankie Goes To Hollywood, Paul McCartney, and Tina Turner with her signature song ‘What’s Love Got To Do With It’. ‘Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go’ - the first #1 for Wham! - is included alongside huge hits from Lionel Richie, Eurythmics, Bananarama, The Communards with Sarah Jane Morris and ‘Sledgehammer’ from Peter Gabriel. Rock hits including the collaboration between Run DMC and Aerosmith, and ‘Livin’ On A Prayer’ from Bon Jovi are featured along with #1s from Pet Shop Boys, Belinda Carlisle, S’Express, Yazz & The Plastic Population, Marc Almond & Gene Pitney and Soul II Soul & Caron Wheeler. As the 80s gave way to the 90s, Beats International’s ‘Dub Be Good To Me’ leads the #1s including Elton John’s ‘Sacrifice’, and the stunning version of the Prince-written ‘Nothing Compares 2 U’ from Sinéad O’Connor. The Clash with the re-released ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go’. Shakespears Sister and Tasmin Archer hit #1 for the first time, and The KLF delivered a fantastic collaboration with Tammy Wynette. Duran Duran and New Order were both back in the Top 10 in 1993. A remix of Freddie Mercury’s ‘Living On My Own’ (which saw him top the charts for the first time as a solo artist) closes this first volume of hits from NOW’s first 40 Years. NOW That’s What I Call 40 Years – celebrating NOW’s legacy with Massive Pop Hits from the past 40 years.

Product Details

Now That's What I Call 40 Years: Vol.1 - 1983-1993
Cat No.
  • VINYL (LP | Compilation)
Friday 20th October 2023
Sony Music , EMI
Electronic Rock Pop


Disc 1 [VINYL]
A1 Karma Chameleon Culture Club
A2 Red Red Wine (Edit / Remastered 2009) UB40
A3 Total Eclipse Of The Heart Bonnie Tyler
A4 Radio Gaga (Remastered 2011) Queen
A5 Relax (Radio Edit) Frankie Goes To Hollywood
A6 99 Red Balloons Nena
A7 Pipes Of Peace (7" Single Edit / 2015 Remaster) Paul McCartney
B1 What's Love Got To Do With It Tina Turner
B2 Wake Me Up Before You Go Go Wham!
B3 Together In Electric Dreams (Remastered 2003 / From "Electric Dreams" Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Philip Oakey Giorgio Moroder
B4 Never Ending Story Limahl
B5 Ghostbusters Ray Parker Jr
B6 Hello (Album Version) Lionel Richie
B7 Don't You (Forget About Me) Simple Minds
Disc 2 [VINYL]
C1 There Must Be An Angel (Playing With My Heart) Eurythmics Annie Lennox David A. Stewart
C2 Venus Bananarama
C3 Sledgehammer (Single Edit) Peter Gabriel
C4 Don't Leave Me This Way The Communards Sarah Jane Morris
C5 Walk This Way (7" Single Version) Run-DMC Aerosmith
C6 Livin' On A Prayer (Radio Edit) Bon Jovi
C7 China In Your Hand (Single Version) T'Pau
D1 Always On My Mind Pet Shop Boys
D2 Heaven Is A Place On Earth Belinda Carlisle
D3 Theme from S-Express S'Express
D4 The Only Way Is Up (12" Version) Yazz The Plastic Population
D5 You Came (Single Version) Kim Wilde
D6 Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart Marc Almond & Gene Pitney
D7 Back To Life (However Do You Want Me) (Remastered / 2003) Soul II Soul Caron Wheeler
Disc 3 [VINYL]
E1 Sowing The Seeds Of Love (Edit) Tears For Fears
E2 I Want That Man Deborah Harry
E3 Dub Be Good To Me Beats International
E4 Sacrifice Elton John
E5 Nothing Compares 2 U Sinéad O'Connor
E6 Should I Stay Or Should I Go (Remastered) The Clash
E7 Wind Of Change (English Edit) Scorpions
F1 Stay Shakespears Sister
F2 Justified And Ancient The KLF Tammy Wynette
F3 Rhythm Is A Dancer (7" Edit) Snap!
F4 Sleeping Satellite Tasmin Archer
F5 Ordinary World (Edited Version) Duran Duran
F6 Regret New Order
F7 Living On My Own (No More Brothers Radio Mix) Freddie Mercury